There are always rows of the more sophisticated bicycle styles along the carfree route, but I’ve never seen anyone actually rent one. Most people who want one of these already owns one, I think. Yesterday, I stopped two men and begged a photo of them. They obliged me at once, without hesitation. Their bicycles are very tradition in design, very sturdy and extremely beautiful. The men have added old-fashioned bells and horns, and the one gentleman is even wearing a traditional hat. You can’t help but be moved by their commitment to style and grace.

Gentlemansbike

A third rider stopped to ask if I’d like my photo taken with them, so naturally I agreed. The minute I took my place, another rider–a total stranger–stepped into the shot beside me. Everyone in Indonesia loves to have their photo taken!

Img_1272

