So far, every time I ride to Sudirman for the carfree Sundays event, I am bubbly with excitement. It never fails to invigorate me.

Because this is the first Sunday I have to work at Wall Street, I decided to get up extra early to be on Sudirman by 7:30 a.m. There were more bicycles on the road at 7 a.m. than I’ve noticed on previous weeks. On the way into the event today, I trailed a group of men who were casually (but obviously) headed in the same direction.

Onthewayimet

We turned a corner, took a street I’d never bothered with previously, and stopped at a red light. When I looked down, I was surprised to see we were on a bike lane! I had no idea we had these on real streets here. Sadly, most people don’t respect the lanes. Notice how there are almost more motorcycles in the lane than bicycles.

SortofhavebikelanesWehavebikelanes

Sudirman and Thalmin were both almost congested! I’ve never seen so many bicycles at the event. But then, I’ve never been here this early in the morning, either.

SudirmanSudirman2Sudirman3Sudirman4Sudirman5

One of the more interesting sights I passed was a man in period costume. I’m not sure what the occasion was, but I wasn’t the only one who thought he looked photoshopped into the picture.

Looksphotoshopped

At the Thalmin end, there is a set of gates I’d never noticed on previous visits, to which many of the cyclists were heading. Curious, I followed them through the gates, and into a slightly enchanted setting. No cars, lots of green space, and many many families out playing in the street.

CarriageBrotherlylove

