Another fun and inspiring week of interviews. Wait ‘til you hear who I’ve met!

On Tuesday night I met a couple who de-mystified the winter cycling experience for me. The man has recently learned how to build his own bikes. This romantic young fellow built a fixie for his lady love’s “champagne birthday” as encouragement to cycle through the winter. She just glowed as she related her success with the venture. He also directed me to an upcoming photography show.

Carril Bici at the LE Gallery

Featuring a combination of photography and found objects, Carril Bici enthusiastically celebrates the spirit of DIY innovation and the effects of Cuban lifestyles on the expression of the bicycle.

Photography by Scott Ramsay; Logistics and Languages by Anibal Davila; Art Direction by Frank Maidens
Show runs April 27 – May 22

For more information, visit www.GlobalBikeProject.com

On Wednesday afternoon, I met with a well-known bike mechanic who is passionate about keeping cyclists safe. As I wrote the interpretation, I realized that I value my own bike mechanic more than my doctor. Perhaps this suggests the importance of having reliable and well serviced equipment. And that we should appreciate our hard-working mechanics more.

Saturday found me at Lit Espresso Bar, speaking to the owner of a bike I’d noticed on Tuesday night. As it happens, he’s an ex-skateboarder and he has the most extraordinary stories about conflict resolution. His calm, rational approach to intimidation turned outright animosity into a chummy acquaintance.

That evening, I went to a performance of Evalyn Parry’s multi-media masterpiece, SPIN, at the Buddies in Bad Times Theatre. I had heard that Brad Hart plays a bicycle as a percussion instrument. It’s true! The vintage bike’s bells, handlebars, spokes, frame, fenders and seat all become part of this “unique tribute to the bicycle as muse, musical instrument and agent of social change”. Anna Friz was also charming in her harmonies and supportive instrumentation. I strongly encourage you to get a ticket. The performance is delightful and moving and inspiring from beginning to end.

Sunday morning I found myself at the Grenadier Cafe, having brunch with an aspiring photographer. It seems we have been moving on similar and now converging paths this winter and I’m pleased to announce that we have agreed to share this journey. We found each other because I’d left a card on his bike—it was the tape on the handlebars that had attracted my attention (the frame is pretty sweet too). Coincidentally, his bike story was about the perfect dooring. Is there such a thing? This man believes that if you must be in such a terrifying accident, you want it to go as his did.

Next week I already have five equally intriguing interviewees lined up!

